Tribunal Sacks Adeleke As Osun Governor, Declares APC’s Oyetola Winner Of Governorship Election

The Osun State Elections Petitions Tribunal has nullified the election of Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and declared Gboyega Oyetola, governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the July 16, 2022 election as the winner of the election.

In August 2022, Oyetola, a former Osun governor, and the APC petitioned the tribunal to challenge the election victory of Adeleke.

Among several issues, Oyetola contended that there was overvoting in 749 polling units across 10 local government areas of the state.

The Justice Tetse Kume-led panel in its judgement on Friday said there was overvoting on the examination of BVAS manipulation. 

The tribunal declared that the electoral body, INEC should withdraw the Certificate of Return issued to Adeleke and issue the same to Oyetola.

The majority judgement which was read by the Chairman, Justice Kume said Oyetola got the majority of lawful votes of 314,931 while Adeleke had 219,666.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *